You Must Read This Excellent Book

Posted on March 21, 2015

0


As a native Southern Californian I have been interested in Mexico and Central America my entire life. In the last 10 years I have made an effort to read and understand as much as I could about the Mexican Revolution and, to some extent, 19th century Mexican history. My wife is a Mexicana and hence, my extended family, are all from Mexico. I enjoy listening to their stories of the old country and what prompted their immigration to the United States.

This book, of recent Mexican events and history, is one of the most fascinating current events books I’ve read in a very long time. Issues of the real reasons for the development of the “drug cartels” and border problems are addressed in a clear and logical manner. The reasons for, and the true impact of, Mexican immigration are addressed in a compelling fashion. The book examines corruption in Mexico and how it fits, “hand in glove” with American interests- especially as it relates to the “War on Drugs”. I was troubled and captured by the relationship between the Mexican government and the Mexican media. It takes profound courage to break from that grasp and speak the truth as a journalist in Mexico.

I can’t emphasize enough how much I appreciated this fine work by Robert Joe Stout who actually lives in Mexico and has an extraordinary grasp on the history, culture, and current socio-political milieu of the country. If, like me, you have a hunger for deeper understanding of the real issues in contemporary Mexico you must read this excellent book.

Posted in: Life in Mexico